OUT NOW: The Genevan Heathen – Love My Life

The Genevan Heathen - Love My Life


From the man who once compared EFUNK The Mixtape to a “triple-breasted female terminator from the future” comes Love My Life, retro-future pop gold served with cheese on top. Stephan Armleder aka The Genevan Heathen, who has appeared on Soul Clap Records before with his cover of Egyptian Lover’s The Alzeby Inn, is a frenzy of word play, cult status and dapper dress. Here he invites background vocalist Amy Douglas and takes us out for a day in the Heathen life:

In The Heathens words:

“It’s all in the title. It’s about loving your life, loving yourself, loving the people who matter to you. It’s like a little postcard from heaven. I wrote this song under the influence of the most amazing woman I have ever met – a woman who taught me how to enjoy the good times and learn from the bad times.

If you listen to the lyrics, you’ll hear mentions of multiple women – it’s fun to live vicariously through songs, it’s like looking back at your life like it was a movie, adding that extra Hollywood spice to it. But at the end of the day, all the ladies in the song are just various incarnations of the same woman, real love.

I originally wrote it to a loop by my friend Goon Kid back in Geneva, and later on Tim Wagner of Dither Down fame made a whole new instrumental for it and gave it that 80s movie end credits vibe I love so much. It’s just feel-good music to enjoy life to!”

On remix duty, Soul Clap transforms the tempo and vibe into a dance groove guaranteed to get the juices flowing like a glass of funky cold medina.

OUT NOW: FSQ – Zulu Congo Call

FSQ's Zulu Congo Call

Ready for take-off from Soul Clap Records mission control is a very unique release beaming directly from the mothership itself. On our recent journey flying alongside George Clinton and Parliament-Funkadelic, we’ve had the distinct privilege of meeting some of the many insiders who oil the multi-faceted funk machine. An incredible example is Chuck “Da Fonk” Fishman, who along Clinton’s nephew Sa’D “The Hourchild” Ali have became our liaisons to Dr. Funkenstein himself! It is no surprise that these gentlemen have explored their own musical directions outside of P-Funk and it is with great honor that we present FSQ!

FSQ is a production team led by Chuck “Da Fonk” Fishman featuring contributions from Sa’D “The Hourchild” Ali, G Koop (part of George Clinton’s production team), Chas Bronz (Bostonian and friend of Soul Clap Records) and One Era. The name is an acronym for “Funk Style Quality” – three elements that make up the core ethos of FSQ’s sound.

Just as FSQ derives from deep musical history, so does the latest record called “Zulu Congo Call”.

In Fishman’s words:

“In about 2005, [we] started working a lot with members of the free jazz movement, John Coltrane acolytes and the like. We were introduced to saxophonist / flautist Prince Lasha who was living in Oakland via Philadelphia based saxophonist / flautist Byard Lancaster who previously joined [us] on several releases. Both legends have since passed on, which emphasizes our passion to try and record with members of the greatest generations of musicians. I was happy with what myself and G Koop did with Prince Lasha, reinventing his 1962 song with Sonny Simmons, “Congo Call” from a straight ahead jazz number to a disco funk song, “Zulu Congo Call” but the song never saw a proper release.”

This EP features a reworked original by Chas Bronz plus remixes from One Era, AbJo (from the Soulection crew) and Mr CV, all curated by Chuck “Da Fonk” Fishman. Lastly as a musical bonus we’ve included FSQ’s superb remix of Nick Monaco’s “Naked Is My Nature”, which takes a total bath in Northern Soul and throwback psychedelic feeling!

Episode 114: Jules Born (Voices Of Black)

Last week we opened our inbox to a musical surprise. Jules from Voices Of Black had sent us a dope mix! Now, obviously the invitation for mixes from the Crew Love extended family is always open here at The Adventures of Soul Clap, but it’s rare that someone actually comes through with anything. And this mix isn’t just anything, it’s that future funk served up the way only the V.O.B.s can do it. When I thanked Jules, he said “Been listening to em for so long I was just like Let me make a Raw ass mix HHAHA”. So here it is. Take a trip and bump it from here to…

1. Voices of Black- Lake Tahoe (Interlude)
2. Kendrick Lamar- Sherane a.k.a. Master Splinter
3. Kareem Riggins- OOOOaaaaah
4. Jules Born- So Hope Opera (Instrumental)
5. Voices of Black- Radiant Child
6. Cuthead-Transgressions
7. Kyle Hall- Must See
8. Madlib feat Freddie Gibbs- Shame (Instrumental)
9. Parliament- Mother Ship Connection (Star Child) Live in Oakland
10. Dam Funk- Fadin
11. Glass Candy- Rollin Down The Hills
12. James White & The Blacks- Contort Yourself
13. Was Not Was- Tell Me That I’m Dreaming
14. Actress- Senorita
15. Brian Jackson & Gill Scott Heron- The Bottle
16. Kareem Riggins- 12’s in 8
17. Tanner Ross- Straight To The Moon
18. Voices of Black- Evolution
19. Madlib- The Sky (Beyond Sight)
20. Jules Born- In My Own Mind (Instrumental)
21. Jai Paul- (Un named Song)
22. Das Ding- A Dark Place
23. Voices of Black feat Rap Lisa- Une Semaine Avec Lui (Instrumental)
24. Jailai- Can’t Catch Me
25. Cortex-Prelude (Shout Outs Outro)
26. Roco feat. Future & Wiz Khalifa- U.O.N.E.O.
27. Vde N Nite- Wet Twerk (produced by Jules Born)
28. Prada Mane- Hot 97 Freestyle
29. Gordon Voidwell- Homemade VHS (Hell’s Kitchen Edit)
30. Sampha- Can’t Get Close (Jules Born Live sample chop Beat Practice)

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

The Adventures Of Soul Clap Podcast Episode 114: Jules Born (Voices Of Black)