Episode 30: Aaron Dae Touches Down

Back in November for Episode 22 we posted a mix and interview of our homey Aaron who runs Dae Recordings out of Chicago. Aaron is originally from Philly and spins straight up house music, so his mix was pretty different than the more techno oriented sets we usually podcast (you know we like to keep it diverse). What happened next was that we got an amazing response from our listeners, everyone was so refreshed to hear house music that emails poured in thanking us for the change of pace. Well all you house heads, have we got a treat for you! An encore presentation from Mr. Dae himself, and this time he kept it super slow and groovy in turning out a true summertime mastermix.

Here’s what Aaron had to say for himself:

“So I think I stumbled across “this sound”, which my buddy Nathan G. coined Electronik Soul, a couple years back in my ex-girlfriend’s record collection. Ah the day is so clear! It was a wikked single on DIY Records with a Schmoov! remix. However, the remix & original were a bit more on the downtempo tip. Nevertheless, I proceeded in my usual research fashion and quickly fell in love. The thing that gets me about this style of house is that it’s timeless. It’s got a groove that never seems to go out of fashion. The perfect blend of disco, soul, funk, and electronic yummyness that makes my heart flutter. Oddly enough, I can count the number of producers making this style on just about one hand (the majority being from the UK). Big shouts to John Buckby aka Schmoov! & Nathan Boddy aka Office Gossip @ Winding Road Recs, Crazy Penis, Hot Toddy, Ron Basejam, Lovebirds, Spirit Catcher, Rhythm Plate, & Ian Pooley.”

01. Hot Toddy – Don’t Spill The Wine – Winding Road
02. Dirty Jesus – Don’t Fuck With My Shit (Salt City Fuck With Erics Shit) – Paper
03. Freakers Orchestra – Message From Kiellands Plass – Glasgow Underground
04. Crispin J. Glover Feat. Mary O. – It’s Over Now (Kenny Hawkes Vocal Mix) – True
05. Office Gossip – Jigsaw – Flat & Round
06. Jamiroquai – Main Vein (Knee Deep Dub) – Sony
07. Ciudad Feliz – All Your Feelings – Silver Network
08. Robb Scott – Understanding (RP’s Club Mix) – Sunshine Enterprises
09. Hot Toddy – Delta Blues – Winding Road
10. Ananda Project – Where The Music Takes You – King Street
11. Kister – Make You Mine (Crazy Penis Mix) – Deft Recordings
12. Crazy P – Cruising – Shiva Recordings
13. Problem Kids Feat. Steve Edwards – S’alright (Crazy Penis Bad Dismount Mix) – Paper
14. Nova Fronteira Feat. Sukima Thomas – Keep It Like This – Z Records

Some last words from Aaron:
“This mix was made the ol’ fashioned way: using two Technics SL1200-MK2 turntables and one Pioneer DJM 300-S mixer. Call it a throwback! The acapella entitled Akabu – Phuture Bound (Fxapella) – (Z Records) and the sound fx from Nu Rhythmix – Urban Safari (Swing City) were used throughout this mix. Mastering of this mix was done by Marcus Aurelius @ M-Lab in Milwaukee, WI. Let’s blast off to space…”

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.